UMBC Presidential Faculty & Staff Awards 2022

Each year, the UMBC community honors and celebrates the accomplishments of our outstanding faculty and staff at the Presidential Faculty & Staff Awards. Each awardee is selected by a committee of their peers.


2022 Presidential Faculty & Staff Awards

2022 Presidential Faculty & Staff Awards

Tamra Mendelson, Professor, Biological Sciences
2022-2025 Presidential Teaching Professor
Yonathan Zohar, Professor and Chair, Marine Biotechnology
2022-2025 Presidential Research Professor
Michael Pound, Director, Environmental Safety and Health
2022-2023 Presidential Distinguished Professional Staff
Helena Dahlen, Executive Administrative Assistant, Division of Information Technology
2022-2023 Presidential Distinguished Non-Exempt Staff

University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Faculty Awards

Marjoleine Kars, Professor, History
2022 Excellence in Scholarship, Research, or Creative Activity

Lee Blaney, Associate Professor, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
2022 Excellence in Teaching

University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Staff Award

Victor Fulda, Engineering Technician, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
2021 Exceptional Contribution to the Institution or Unit to Which the Person Belongs

2020-2021 Diane M. Lee Teaching Awards

Jamie Gurganus ‘04, M.S. ‘11, Ph.D. ‘20, Faculty, Mechanical Engineering; Associate Director, Engineering Education Initiatives; and Director, Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning

Jonathan Zwi, Instructor and Affiliate Artist, Music

2021-2022 Diane M. Lee Teaching Award

Mark Berczynski, M.S. ’17, Lecturer, Engineering and Computing Education Program

2021-2022 Jakubik Family Endowment Staff Award

Danyelle Tauryce Ireland, Associate Director, Center for Women in Technology

2021-2022 Karen L. Wensch Endowment Award for Outstanding Non-Exempt Staff

Nichole Zang Do, M.A. ’15, Program Management Specialist, Biological Sciences

2021-2022 Marilyn E. Demorest Awards for Faculty Advancement

Tamara Bhalla, Associate Professor, American Studies

Margaret Holland, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems

2021-2022 Teresa Lupinek Endowment Award

C. Jill Randles, Assistant Vice Provost and Assistant Dean, Academic Engagement and Transition Programs

2021-2022 UMBC Research Faculty Excellence Award

Narsingh B. Singh, Research Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry and Computer Science and Electrical Engineering